Guest reviews

                                                                         Excellent – based on 27 reviews on TripAdvisor®

“Wonderful visit”

 Reviewed 7 Sep 2019

Just back from a wonderful week away in the fabulous Villa Romao! The ladies are amazing, so welcoming from the start, meeting us at the airport and then showing us the supermarket and recommended restaurants on the way up to the house. It really is a home from home, the welcome pack is amazing and the villa had everything you might need and more. The area is so quiet tucked away in the hills, perfect for relaxing and de stressing! Pool is wonderful and a good size. We enjoyed walking in the area each day, the villa is on a dedicated walk which is signposted. A car is essential and there are three brilliant restaurants within a 10 minute drive from the villa. Sol e Serra, Rui’s Steakhouse and Monte da Eira. Thanks so much to Marie Elena and Mariela for your welcome to Villa Romao and we definitely hope to return next year.

 

“Beautiful!!!”

 Reviewed 29 Aug 2019

This really is an absolute pearl in the algarve! The villa is bursting with typical Algarvian character and set in a magnificent location. It was imacuate and full of added extras which I couldn't possibly list on one review. The owners are fantastic and personable, worked really hard to make our stay unforgettable. The area has loads to offer including the town centre which was bigger than expected. BOTH The markets were fantastic, outside and inside. The wine spectacular, food, spices and oils. There are typical algarvian restaurants nearby which do a 'menu of the day' so you just know everything is fresh and tastes great. The views and nature trails in querenca are amazing, their is a reataurant looking over the mountains. There are many people who beaches a short drive away. The villa itself has numerous places to sit whether in the shade or around the pool with x3 bbqs. Thank you mariela & Elena for a wonderful stay x x x

Owner's reply: Thanks for your Review Thomas!! It was a pleasure to meet you. We are very happy in to make your stay unforgettable. Hope to see you again:) Best wishes to all the family.

 

“Fantastic Villa and Location”

 Reviewed 16 Aug 2019

We had a fantastic two weeks at Villa Romao, we couldn't have asked for more. From being met at the Airport Car Hire to the wonderful treats left for us during the stay, it was perfect. The Villa is in a lovely quiet rural setting, wonderfully peaceful but with Loule only a short drive away. The Villa had everything you could need and more, in fact I don't think you could name one thing you'd need on Holiday that you couldn't find somewhere in the Villa. The Pool was clean and well kept throughout the stay. There were four of us and the kids aren't youngsters anymore (18 and 24) but there was plenty of space for us all to chill out. We will definitely be going back as there is still so much more to see in the area.

 

“Beautiful villa in the hills near Loule”

 Reviewed 2 Aug 2019

Where to start! From the first meeting with Mariela at the airport to our final day around the pool today we have had the most amazing stay and really don’t want to leave. This place is a little gem in the hills near Loule. Remote enough to feel away from it all but a 15 min drive to Loule to get provisions. Elena has ensured that you have everything you could possibly need in the villa, from beach towels, hair dryer, dishwasher and washing machine to first aid supplies. She also supplied two amazing welcome packs. One with the first couple of days essentials (including wine!) and the other with produce from Portugal. We have loved trying the different tastes of the region. Both Elena and Mariela could not do enough to make sure our stay was an enjoyable one. They are both lovely people. When servicing the pool mid-week Elena spoilt us with a huge basket of oranges, bread, cheese and chorizo. We would not hesitate in booking the villa again and would highly recommend if you want to escape from the rat race and enjoy this little pearl in the hills.

 

“A wonderful place to stay, couldn't have asked for more!”

 Reviewed 30 Sep 2018

Beautiful, tranquil location, in the middle of the countryside. Villa had everything we needed and more, not a holiday home, more like a friends house. Wonderful to sit out in the evening overlooking woodland, after tasty bbq, watching the stars and bats, and talking to Freddie the villa's resident gecko! Pool amazing, sparkling clean and private. Lots of good walks in nature reserve. Friendly local Portuguese places to eat and close to Loule for shops and markets with local produce. Accessible to rugged coastline of west and miles of sandy beaches to east - all with amenities close to the beach and beautiful warm, blue sea for swimming. Elena, Maria and their mum couldn't have done more to make our stay comfortable; the welcome pack was amazing, and the figs,peaches and pear from their own trees were fantastic! Already wishing we were back again!

Owner's reply: Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope to see you again. Warm regards.

 

“What a find !!!!!”

 Reviewed 28 Aug 2018

Stayed at the villa 17-24th August. From beginning to end this is by far the best holiday accommodation with have stayed in after many years of travel. The property is a real home from home with all thaT you need including a location that offers it all if you simply want to unwind and relax. The main house is fully equipped, the pool is outstanding and the grounds are amazing. With the best restaurants in the Loulé area on your doorstep what more can you ask for! BUT what separates this place from the rest is the attention to detail and the very friendly and caring owners - they simply can not do enough to ensure all goes to plan. Thank you.

 

“An excellent place to stay !”

 Reviewed 14 Aug 2018

A beautifully located villa with a lovely pool ideal for kids ( 11 and 13) who can swim a bit and deep enough for adults. The villa is a short distance from the airport and we were met at the airport by the host which is a first. Beautiful beaches are 20 minutes away and Loulé, which has 4 supermarkets at the last count, is 10-15 minutes drive. What stood out in the villa is that it has everything you could possibly want.

 

“Th most amazing / relaxing holiday we have had.”

 Reviewed 18 Jun 2018

When we arrived at Faro airport we were met by Elena and Mariela who own the villa. After a half hour drive north and through Loule we arrived. To say we were surprised was an understatement. Usually websites overstate the properties both in size and amenities but Villa Romao totally blew us away with how remote, picturesque and beautiful it was. There was a welcome basket waiting for us which was extremely generous. Both Elena and Mariela explained how everything worked in the villa before leaving and letting us settle in. The next ten days were fantastic. I can honestly say, hand on heart that as hard as i try i could not find fault in anything about this property or the owners. 2 more lovely people you could not hope to meet. We will definitely be back next year.

 

“Peaceful, clean and comfortable house in the most idyllic setting to truly get away from it all!”

 Reviewed 5 Apr 2018

Our hosts, Maria Elena and Marielas where so helpful and generous, thank you. The cottage is charming and comfortable, we are trying to arrange to go back! :)

 

“A restful retreat”

 Reviewed 16 Sep 2017

Visited for the second time in Aug 17 and had the same great time. The first week we spent chilling by the pool and enjoying the very peaceful surroundings. By week 2 we decided we needed to venture out and made a few trips to Quarteira beach, water parks, Silves and Pera. Car is essential. Mariela and Elena again were the perfect hosts who went beyond the call to help us when we suffered a puncture. It was particularly nice this time to meet Mariela and Elena's mother who shared a laugh with us about Ronaldo's confidence levels :) We really like this place and wouldn't hesitate to revisit if ever we want to return to the Loule area. If you are looking for a spacious air conditioned villa with a big pool (10x5m) off the beaten track where tranquility is your main holiday criterion, I thoroughly advise trying here.

 

“Lost For Words !!”

 Reviewed 12 Jul 2017

Well, what can we say ?!! We booked this villa on the strength of the photos, location and previous reviews .... but no amount of praise can do this wonderful villa justice. Sue and I spent two weeks here, and we can't speak highly enough about our stay. The villa itself lacks nothing ... absolutely nothing !! From a shopping trolley (and bags) to inflatables for the pool, there is everything you could possibly wish for. Even the ' welcome pack ' was like a banquet compared to previous villas we have stayed in !! The owners were extremely attentive to all our needs/concerns/ and any worries we may have had initially ... and were only a quick text or email away if we needed them. As for the location - it was perfect for what we required. Quite isolated, but only 10 minutes drive from the main road, and a further 5 minutes into Loule. Yes, it was a little above our usual budget, but the extra cost was more than justified, as this was one of the best villas/holidays we've had. Over the course of 2 weeks we drove 1200km ..... including trips northwards into the hills, eastwards to the Spanish border regions, southwards to the coastal tourist areas, and westward to Lagos etc. Each day brought new adventures and memories we will treasure for a long time, and at the end of each day we could look forward to relaxing in this amazing villa/location. Trust us .... you will NOT be disappointed !!! Dave & Sue.

 

“A delightful little house in beautiful countryside”

 Reviewed 17 Jun 2017

Villa Romao is a lovely restored farmhouse in the hills north of Loule. Quiet location well away from the busy coast but within a short drive of three good local restaurants and the shops of the town. The owners are so friendly, helpful and generous, they have thought of everything to make a stay comfortable, the house is fully equipped with everything you could possibly require. It was a delight to sit in the shade of the ancient carob tree in the heat of the day before a dip in the well maintained pool. Our two week stay was not long enough, we fell in love with Villa Romao and look forward to a future stay. Thank you Maria Elena, Mariela and Dorinda.

“Séjour super dans la maison très confortable et bien équipée”

 Reviewed 27 Sep 2016

Nous avons été superbement accueillis par les propriétaires Mariella et Maria Helena.Maison très confortable et très bien équipée située dans un cadre bucolique. Super piscine,location à recommander à ses amis. Nous y retournerons avec grand plaisir.

“Séjour rendu très agréable par la gentillesse de nos Hôtesses”

 Reviewed 13 Oct 2016

Mariela et Maria Héléna ont largement contribué à rendre notre séjour très agréable. Avant même notre arrivée, nos hôtesses nous ont renseigné sur le lieu de location de notre véhicule. Malgré une arrivée tardive suite à un retard de vol de plus de 6 heures, elles étaient présentent à l'aéroport. Après une visite de repérage à Loulé, un méga panier d'accueil et un réfrigérateur bien garni nous attendaient. Nos bagages égarés en cours de route, Mariela et Maria Héléna se sont chargées de nous assister pour suivre notre réclamation.... Bref, nous recommandons chaleureusement cette location.

“Perfect Rustic Tranquility”

 Reviewed 25 Sep 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a two weeks vacation in the Algarve, staying at the villa Quinta Romao. Our arrangements to meet the two sister owners of the property, to be shown the property and be given the keys, could not have been better. They lead us to the villa and then gave us a comprehensive induction to all of the very many features of the villa available to us during our stay. the place was presented to us in an immaculate condition. The features and facilities at the villa are all at least as good as described on the web sites. The sisters visited to service the pool and tend to the gardens. They paid great attention to detail, in order to maintain perfection. The property is on a quite country road with almost NO passing vehicles. The property is peaceful. Upon our departure, the two sisters were there to see us off and to prepare the villa for their next customers. Our deposit money has been duly repaid, all exactly per the original agreement. So, this villa is exactly as advertised, if not actually BETTER than advertised. We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Quinta Romao.

“Would recommend”

 Reviewed 4 Sep 2016

We stayed in villa Romao in mid August and have to say we have no complaints. The Villa itself is very clean, comfortable and has everything you need for your stay. We loved the pool which was very well maintained and had loads of pool inflatables to keep the kids content for hours. The grounds of the Villa are filled with a huge variety of trees and the views are beautiful. Incredibly quiet at night and we felt 100% safe from day one. The owners were very friendly and helpful and you will need to meet Mariella at the airport to get directions to the villa as it is off the beaten track. Would definitely recommend!

“A diamond in the hills”

 Reviewed 11 Oct 2015

Just returned home after enjoying the best holiday ever. From the moment we stepped off the plane and where met by Mariela we received an exceptional welcome and were provided with a wonderful service. When you read the reviews of the villa you know your going somewhere special but it's not until you arrive that you realise just how special this villa and surroundings are. All the reviews are exactly right with Mariela,Elena and family providing you with a wonderful holiday and you will not want to leave. This Quinta is a diamond in the hills and cannot fail to give you a fantastic time. We have already booked for May 2016. Many thanks Mariela and Elena we will see you soon.

“Fantastic”

 Reviewed 15 Sep 2015

To do this place justice would take too many words. We arrived with 2 kids and were met at Faro airport and escorted to the villa via useful landmarks. Mariela and Helena were kind, courteous and very helpful in settling us in, providing a welcome pack that was much better than the usual with enough food and drinks to last us the day without needing to shop straight away. It was the friendliest and most professional welcome I've had on any holiday. The villa itself is a little more remote than expected but this added to its charm and to the peacefulness. It's also much bigger inside than it looks, with high ceilings so that even the rooms that aren't air conditioned stay cool, even in peak season (air con is in both bedrooms and kitchen). I would challenge anyone to visit this villa and find that they needed something that wasn't provided - the only single item that could be improved is the availability of UK TV channels if the kids want time out of the sun but there's a DVD player for that purpose. The pool is a great size and well maintained by Helena who made a couple of visits to keep it clean and there are plenty of tables, barbecues, seating and loungers. Local Loule has a great local market if you like fish and the prices are rock bottom (3 whole sea bass for the equivalent of £6 - fab on the BBQ!) The local Continente is also there for a big shop and I believe it has an Aldi also. There are also restaurants nearer by offering local cuisine - the Monte de Eire, recommended by Mariela, offers some very nice dishes. There are loads of beaches within relatively easy driving distance (Portugal being a very easy place to drive anyway) so take your pick. We ended up traveling further West to Alvor where there are stronger winds to keep the heat off (and some nice fish restaraunts that we've visited before). Just writing this is making me miss the place all over again...my whole family loved it and would love to return sometime.

Owner's reply: Hello Kynan, Many thanks for your review! We are very happy with your comments!! your satisfaction with the villa and our guest service is our satisfaction and the reason of our villa existence. We will continue to improve more and more. We really hope to see you again in the Algarve in the near future. All the best for you and your familly. Thanks again! QR Villa

“A haven of peace and beauty plus everything you need for a wonderful holida.”

 Reviewed 24 Jul 2015

We had a truly wonderful stay in this lovely villa. Mariela and her sister Maria could not have been more welcoming - meeting us in loule to show us the way and leaving us an incredible basket of goodies on arrival and a bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge. The house is really spacious and equipped with absolutely everything we could wish for - every time we thought of something we needed from an ice bucket to after-bite or a plaster it was there to be found. The garden is gorgeous with various different places to sit at different times of the day and the pool is just stunning - you really feel in the middle of nowhere looking out over the beautiful country side ( the house is in the middle of a national park).We had a great meal just outside querenca which is a short 15 minute drive away and Loule was a great place to shop with the fabulous indoor market. Obviously you would need a car here but for us it was the perfect base to discover the delights of the Algarve and we definitely hope to return to this peaceful haven. Thank you Mariela and Maria for looking after us so well! (For future guests - the Internet works best outside by the pool).

“Wonderfully relaxing”

 Reviewed 21 Jun 2015

Villa Romao had everything we could want for a relaxing, peaceful stay in the Algarvian hills. It lies less than 10 minutes by car outside Loulé, which made a great base for food shopping and other essentials. The villa felt marvellously secluded and calm - perfect for a relaxing holiday away from the stresses and strains of modern life. Even though we stayed in May, it was warm enough to swim in the unheated pool and the seating area under the trees provided a perfect place to eat dinner and watch the sun setting. Many thanks to Mariela for meeting us in Loulé, conducting us to the villa and getting us settled in. Villa Romao is, without doubt, an ideal holiday rental for getting away from it all without having to go too far! I'm pretty sure we'll be back again in future.

Owner's reply: Many thanks to all our dear guests for your kind reviews. It is a pleasure for us to provide you excellent holiday accommodation in the Algarve & unique customer service in our villa. With all kind Regards, Villa Romao

“exceptionnel”

 Reviewed 10 Jun 2015

La villa, de construction traditionnelle est située dans un endroit retiré, au calme, un vrai Bonheur pour se reposer tout en profitant des plages situées à quelques dizaines de kilomètres....bien que la belle piscine, très agréable, très propre, aménagée avec un barbecue et transats puisse largement suffire... Constitué d'un vaste intérieur, dans lequel TOUT est pensé pour les clients, la villa peut accueillir aisément 6 personnes en couchage "tout confort"... Pour terminer, il faut noter un accueil exceptionnel de la part de Maria Héléna, une disponibilité au quotidien pour ses clients, en d'autres termes une empathie réelle et fortement appréciée par notre groupe..... Maria Héléna, MERCI encore pour ce séjour TRES, TRES agréable...

“Beautiful”

 Reviewed 3 Oct 2014

My husband and I stayed at the villa for 1 week and we really loved the place , we did not want to go home ! If you are looking for somewhere you can chill out and,relax with beautiful views then this is the place to be Mark and I loved our stay at villa Romao, and hope to return in the future The family who own the villa were lovely you could not meet a nicer family ! we met Mariella at the airport which was great then when we arrived at the villa we met mariella's sister,mother and little nephew they were all lovely people very friendly and welcoming WE LOVED IT !! and would like to Thank the family for our fantastic holiday and hope to return soon Thank you Kind regards Tracy + Mark xx

“Beautiful, tranquil and marvellous!”

 Reviewed 14 Aug 2014

A beautiful villa and much bigger than it looks in the photos! Quiet and peaceful location, perfect for a relaxing stay. The villa and gardens were very well maintained and to a very high standard - the villa itself had everything you could possibly wish for a comfortable stay and even had mountain bikes should you wish to be adventurous and explore the stunning surrounding countryside. The pool was spotlessly clean and was fabulous; totally unoverlooked. The villa has extremely high ceilings and is lovely and cool even without using the air conditioning, a welcome relief after a hot afternoon at the local beach or pool. The villa is about 30 minutes drive from the airport at Faro and the trip was straight forward. Loule is about 10 minutes drive from the villa and has a lovely undercover market ,numerous little shops and restaurants and a couple of decent supermarkets. In the other direction from the villa is a little village up in the mountains called Querenca - very pretty and has a few places to eat - highly recommended. The owners of the villa, Mariela and Elenar were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome. Mariela met us from the airport and showed us where the supermarket in Loule and various points of interest were. The welcome pack of milk, wine and selection of goodies was very much appreciated. Lots of nice places to visit within a short drive of the villa - Faro old town is quite interesting and the beach at Quinta do Lago is stunning! If you like a pretty place to stay, with stunning views, tranquility and excellent service than this is certainly the holiday for you; would we come back? Like a shot!

 

“Words cannot describe how quiet it is in Villa Romao”

 Reviewed 10 Aug 2014

Mariella and Helena did welcome us at the airport. From there they made a quick tour through Loule to point us to the most interesting places and showed us where the supermarket was before going with us to the house. The house exceeded by far all our expectations. Pictures on the site do not show how beautiful and quiet the house is. We enjoyed every minute from our stay.

 

“A little peace of heaven - Utterly relaxing & the ultimate place to chill !!!”

 Reviewed 4 Jul 2014

We spent a week at Quinta Romao, and echo the comments of previous reviewers. The villa is traditionally algarvian and is extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and is definitely the most well equipped holiday rental we have ever stayed in (air con, dishwasher, washing machine, ..the list is endless). The location is peaceful and secluded and even though you do need a car, Loule town centre is a short drive and Faro is 20 minutes away. The pool was excellent and had everything from sunbeds to sun shades, BBQ area (& two more on another terrace!!) and was clean and well kept. The kindness of the owners Mariela & Maria began with email contact and continued throughout our stay, from meeting us at the airport and showing us the local area, to calling mid week to ensure we had enough towels & bed linen ...and of course not forgetting the lovely welcome pack of local produce and wine waiting for us on arrival !!! They gave us tips on local areas to visit and traditional restaurants to eat in and it's clear their aim is to ensure guests feel welcomed & have an enjoyable stay in the villa & the local area. Quinta Ramao is a hidden gem which we intend to book again soon. Would highly recommend it.

 

“Away from it all tranquility”

 Reviewed 7 Nov 2013

We had the last week in October in this lovely traditional Portuguese Quinta . It is very rural and peaceful, a real away from it all location we were completely undisturbed. The owners were very helpful and me us from the airport to take us to our Villa. They had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable. The accommodation is traditional with all basic needs catered for and lots of space - A car is essential as the location is remote . There are some lovely walks in the surrounding hills. The pool is gated and inviting although it isn't heated and at this time of year was extremely chilly it the view from the terrace us amazing .

 

“Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!!!!!!!!”

 Reviewed 5 Oct 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Quinta Romao, the villa is lovely, comfotable and well equiped (even down to first aid supplies and a welcome pack of food basics (with wine in the fridge!!!). They have really thought of everything. It is so quiet and secluded yet only 15 minutes from Loule town centre. The pool was excellent and again had everything you could need from sunbeds to sun shades and was clean and well kept. we had a fantastic holiday and Mariela and Maria could not have been nicer or more helpful to the extent they meet you at the arport take you in to Loule to show you where everythhing is,give you maps and suggestions for places to visit,and even on one day it rained, when we got back from a shopping trip when they were due to come and treat the pool, we found they had left us an umbrella next to the door!!!! Best holiday rental we have stayed in and an excellent find. Highly recommended and we will be going back for sure!.